A quick trip to Philly and GW Commencement on the National Mall

A quick trip to Philly and GW Commencement on the National Mall

I’m sorry for the long time before this blog post, now that school has finished for the year and I have completed all my final exams, I am working 40 hours a week. Basically when I get home I eat and then sleep! I have become a koala! But last weekend, I took a trip back up to Philadelphia with Albert to visit his aunt and uncle to get out of the city. Part of the reason was because the GW Graduation was happening, so a lot of our friends were spending some quality time with their family.
Although I’ve been to Philadelphia before, it was only for a morning in October, so it was nice to be able to visit places I had missed out on, such as the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall. IMG_4272 IMG_4282 I also got to see the famous Philidelphia “Love sign” in Love Park which was awesome. IMG_4313 But the most fun of the day came from spending time with Albert’s cousin Sadeen. She is 5 and has more energy than any other child I’ve met (including Niamh!) IMG_4288 A lot of my day was also spent in the park and at the carousel – she had to have the sparkly horse to ride on. IMG_4210 IMG_4221 It was a lot of fun, and a real break from work and school. Not to say I am not enjoying work, because I love it, but sometimes you just need to escape.
Saturday evening we spent at Alberts uncles house cooking the biggest steaks I have ever seen and enjoying time on the balcony. IMG_4327 IMG_4328 I also saw a huge ground hog beside the house – so cool! IMG_4325
Unfortunately we couldn’t stay much longer visiting as we had to get back to DC for GW Commencement. Although everyone already graduated in their separate ceremonies, GW Commencement occurs on the National Mall behind the Washington Monument with all 10,000 students graduating. IMG_4338 The weather was perfect and everyone looked so cool in their cap and gown! Christina, Albert and I didn’t have seats but that was fine as we had a great view! IMG_4370 IMG_4372 This is Maleeha and then the second picture is Nicole, George, Johnny, Taylor, John and David. IMG_4351 IMG_4356
There were various speakers including Hose Andreas who is a famous chef and has various restaurants in the city. His speech was great and I loved that I got to see it.
Afterwards we had our photos taken together – although most of them are staying for the Summer, it still felt like the end of the year. I have become much more aware of the fact that I only have 10 weeks left here and although my mum is counting the days until my return (I hope!) it will be weird to say goodbye to all of them. IMG_4445 IMG_4456 IMG_4467 IMG_4471
I promise to be better the next few weeks in updating the blog – although my desk isn’t very interesting!!

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A quick trip to Philly and GW Commencement on the National Mall

  1. bfam says:

    Pleased your having some chill time again. Sadeen is just getting you into practice for seeing Niamh again . Love the photos on your blog can see some new pictures in my house on your return !! Enjoy your week with the family next week X

Leave a Reply

