Happy Turkey Day! AKA Thanksgiving!

Happy Turkey Day! AKA Thanksgiving!

My week in New Mexico was off to a flying start, but Thursday was going to make it even better because it was going to be my first Thanksgiving! And we were heading to Taos, a ski village in Northern New Mexico. After having a nap in the car (it was a 3 hour journey and I was sleepy!) we had arrived and I was completely taken with the place! IMG_5554 We were staying in a beautiful cabin that belongs to Hannah’s sister’s fiancee and it was stunning. After settling down to some lunch, IMG_5561 we got our gear together and went snowshoeing – something I had never done before. It is hiking with poles and wearing this footwear: Atlas_snowshoes It was a little funny to start with but I soon got the hang of it, and the views from up the mountain were incredible! 1454719_10151883270778141_1503393820_n After working up our appetite, we headed back to the cabin to get ready for Thanksgiving dinner. Each of us were in charge of a different part of the dinner; for Hannah and I this was the stuffing and the Cranberry Yum Yum. IMG_5593 IMG_5592 IMG_5595 Hannah’s sister Alison was making the mashed potato for the first time and was very excited. IMG_5581 After 5 hours of being in the oven, it was finally time to bring out the turkey, and what a sight it was! The 9 of us got ready to dig into our food but not before a celebratory photo was taken to mark my first thanksgiving! IMG_5596 IMG_5597 IMG_5599 After having way too much food and putting me in a food coma, we settled down in front of the fire to watch American football – a tradition in the US on Thanksgiving. It was a pretty early night for all of us as we were all beat! IMG_5579
Friday morning turned out to be even more exciting though as I got to try out skiing! This was another first of the week for me and I’m happy to say that I think I did alright! I only fell over 3 times, and the bruise on my bum isn’t too bad… I also learnt to turn and stop myself – a very good thing when I was flying towards people at high speed! I will definitely be trying skiing again. Unfortunately after this, it was time to say goodbye to Taos and the cabin and head back to Albuquerque. IMG_5606 IMG_5607 IMG_5600 But I got another cool thing at the end of the day: Albuquerque has a tradition of Illuminaria at Christmas to light up the streets, and I managed to see some, even though it is the end of November! IMG_5697 IMG_5702 IMG_5712 IMG_5713 IMG_5716
I have had the most incredible week in New Mexico, with many firsts including skiing, snowshoeing and trying Sushi. And I wouldn’t change one bit of it! 1455089_660170467368518_2099844616_n

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Turkey Day! AKA Thanksgiving!

  1. betty (grandma) says:

    very good reading again, keep it up xx Grandma

Leave a Reply

