Last Day of Orientation: The March on Washington, the Capitol and a fancy dinner…

IMG_2325Last Day of Orientation: The March on Washington, the Capitol and a fancy dinner…” />

Good morning lovely people! Please do not believe that I am feeling this chirpy right now, as last night I went to my first frat party, with red cups and all! However more to follow on this later. Yesterday was my last day of orientation. To be honest I was in two mind sets, 1) I was excited because I would finally be able to sleep in! but 2) I would miss spending all my time with my group who I love to bits. Yesterday morning though was possibly one of the greatest moments not just of the trip but of my life – I went to the 50th Anniversary of the re-enactment of the March on Washington. Little history info for you on it, the March on Washington was one of the largest political rallies for human rights in history and occured on August 28 1963. It was also when Martin Luther King delivered his “I have a dream speech.” IMG_2337 IMG_2359 IMG_2370 IMG_2394 IMG_2414 IMG_2420 IMG_2423 IMG_2425 IMG_2438
The re-enactment yesterday was to signify and celebrate how far the rights of African Americans have come. But it also wasn’t just for them, it was for LGBT and taxation without representation and any other problems Americans face. From 7am I was involved in the march and ended up standing on the National mall beside the reflection pool with thousands of other people just as it had happened 50 years before. It was an amazing experience and everyone was so happy and friendly. It was a great moment especially for the history geek that I am!
After this Whitney and I (Whitney is the leader who took me along to the march, and is largely involved in this at Uni) went up to the Capitol to meet up with the rest of our group and had an amazing tour there. IMG_2447 The place was incredible and I definitely want to go back there again. After this we had time to go do some shopping and get anything we needed for our formal dinner in the evening – I managed to get a dress for $9, equivalent of £5!!!
The dinner was one of the fanciest meals I have had, which included steak! We all dressed up really nicely – I had 5 girls in my room getting dress, make up etc, and I think I did 3 different hair styles that night for various people! IMG_2492It was funny when we went down the lobby as the girls and guys suddenly separated, as If we were back in primary school at a school disco. Very amusing! Our restaurant was on the riverside and was a perfect setting to the end of a great week! IMG_2488 IMG_2507 And then it was onto the Frat Party! With our cheap alcohol carried by me as half our group isn’t 21 and our red cups! It was a lot of fun and we all made it home safely – though I am not sure how because I wasn’t feeling my best this morning! It has been an amazing week and I have met some incredible people who I know will be great friends 🙂 IMG_2474IMG_2476

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Last Day of Orientation: The March on Washington, the Capitol and a fancy dinner…

  1. Mark Dray says:

    Hi Sweetheart, I still think you should label your photos, otherwise we will never know who your friends are! Great blog; keep it up!

    Love

    Dad xx

  2. grandma says:

    Hi Pet,
    look forward to more of your Blog, it makes lovely reading. Luv You. Grandma / Grandad

Leave a Reply

